top of page

The Journey Continues!

Updated: Apr 29, 2022

Yarn and Joining Methods


As of the Hogs & Kisses Afghan post, I still had a bit to do. I have since finished & typed up the X Square & Feather Square (close-up pictured below). So, "What's the next step?", you may be asking. Well, there are several steps I still need to do.



Step #1 - Figure out the layout


This step is integral since it helps determine how much yarn I will need to use. Each square measures about 14 inches wide by 12 inches high. The way I determined the amount I would need is by making each square, seeing how much I had left, and multiplying that by how many squares of each yarn type I would need. (Yes, this isn't the most scientific way to go about it, but I haven't bought a scale yet. 😅)


I determined I would need about 2/3 of a skein per Hog or X square and I need 7 squares (See layout below). So, 7 x 2/3 = 14/3 or 4 & 2/3 skeins. By this math, I should only need about 5 skeins to make all the squares. Yes, I will let you know in a future blog whether or not my math was correct. At this point, I only have 1 square of each made.


As for the Feather square, I determined I would need about 7/8 of a skein and I need 8 squares (Again, see layout below). So, 8 x 7/8 = 56/8 or 7 skeins. I might just by an 8th in case my math is wrong. 😆


Here is the layout I have come up with based on how wide & tall each square is:



Step #2 - Decide on a joining method


This next step is a difficult one, at least it was for me. I'm horrible at deciding on borders and joins because there are so many choices out there! For this particular Afghan, I want something either invisible or fancy. Let's take a look at the 3 I narrowed my search down to.


Joining Method #1: Invisible

We will start with the invisible join since it is, well, invisible. This join uses sewing and creates a seamless join that makes it look as though your squares were crocheted as one big blanket. This is helpful if you really want to show the beauty of each square made without the distraction of an extra border.


You can find written instructions for this join here.

You can find a video tutorial here.


Joining Method #2: Whip Stitch

Next is the whip stitch and it also involves sewing. This join is pretty, but is only recommended for things that aren't going to take a beating (i.e. baby blankets). So, based on that, this join probably isn't what I need.


You can find written instructions here.

You can find a video tutorial here.


Joining Method #3: Simulated Braid

Finally, there's the simulated braid. This join is a variation of the flat brad join and involves no sewing. It is beautiful with an intricate lacy look that appears more complicated than it is to crochet.


You can find written instruction here.

You can find a video tutorial here.


What I Decided on

Given the above, I wanted something beautiful yet simple. I decided to go with the simulated braid since is intricate, lacy, & simple to do. What join would you have went with? Comment below and let me know your thoughts. 😊


Step #3 - The border


I am at a loss for this step at the present time. I'm thinking I will crochet all the squares, join them, and THEN decide upon a border. However, I'm do love the look of the Meet Me on the Corner border (which can be found here). But it may be a little much for this one. Thoughts?



Don’t Forget to Join the Blog!!


If you haven't already, you can join the blog to stay up-to-date with all future posts. You can also browse my site to find all of my released patterns...and even some free ones. 😉


Oh, and if you are interested in testing this pattern (when I get to that stage), feel free to message me!


*Side Note: I am thinking of having various languages available on my site. If you would like to help me with that, please let me know what language(s) you would like to see, either by chat or commenting.


Be well and stay awesome! 😎

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page