top of page

How to Half Double Crochet (US)/Half Treble Crochet (UK)

Updated: May 19, 2022

Hello, Lovelies!


This round, I will show you the "how to" for half double crochet (which is the US terminology)/ half treble crochet (which is the UK terminology). I'm still chugging along on those squares for the Hogs & Kisses Afghan & should have them complete by May 27th, 2022, as long as everything stays on track. I still promise to update you with every post as to where I'm at with it. This week, I have completed 2 squares, with a third to be completed tomorrow. I will then edge & join the first 2 rows together. I'm still in need of a border & will put the choices at the end of this post. Please, let me know which border you like. I take all votes into account & will be keeping track. The winning border will be announced on the May 27th post. Now, on with the tutorial!


For this tutorial I will be using a partial skein of I Love This Yarn metallic in Pinkytoes & a 5.5mm hook:



Let's begin!


Step #1 - Make a Slipknot


Before starting any project, we will want to make a slipknot. A slipknot is the foundation to making any project (minus in the round, but that's a whole other post 😉). To see how I do it, check out my Single Crochet How-To here.


Step #2 - Create a Chain


After the slipknot, the chain is the next step to creating a project. It can consist of as many or as little chains as you need. Typically, a project will give you a number of chains to make plus an extra number (e.g. 24 + 1, 32 + 2, 140 + 3). The extra chain(s) are the equivalent of a turning chain. For this example, I will be doing 11 + 1.


*Please hold the yarn & hook however is comfortable for you. (For full instructions, go here.)*


Step #3 - Begin the Half Double Crochet (US)/Half Treble Crochet (UK)


The half double crochet is one of the basics and MUST be learned in order to create all the other beautiful & unique stitches out there. Below is a table with each of the basic stitches in US terms & the conversion into UK terms:

​US Terminology

​UK Terminology

Slip Stitch

Slip Stitch

Single Crochet

Double Crochet

Half Double Crochet

Half Treble Crochet

Double Crochet

Treble Crochet

Triple/Treble Crochet

Double Treble Crochet

Now we can move on to how to create a half double crochet aka HDC/ half treble crochet aka HTC. The first step is to insert the hook into the 2nd chain from the hook:


This is how to complete the 1st HDC:


Now, continue across the chain:


Next, we will chain 1:


Now, turn your work & HDC across until you have made your 2nd to last stitch:


Work the last stitch, chain 2, & turn the work:


By chaining 2, the stitch height will be higher. If you want to keep the height of the 1st row, chain 1. Once you have the desired chain, HDC across:

Continue chaining 1 (or 2), turning the work, & HDC across until it is as long as you would like. If you ever get lost as to what row number you are on, well, let's just talk about that next! 😀


Step #4 - Determining Right Side VS Wrong Side


Everyone gets lost on their row count at one time or another. Here is a small tip to help you know right side vs wrong side, as well as even vs odd:


Congratulations!


Now you are wise in the ways of HDC! Go forth and make awesome projects! Next week, we will be discussing how to double crochet. I look forward to you reading this & hope you are enjoying this as much as I am. 😁 Don't forget to join the blog, if you haven't already, and please leave me your thoughts! Was this helpful? Would you recommend this to others? I want to know!


Oh! Don't forget to vote via comment on the following borders. EVERY VOTE COUNTS!!


Jasmine Lacy Border

This border is by Andrea Cretu and can be found on Ravelry here. I love this one because it is simple yet exudes femininity in its elegant beauty.



Meet Me on the Corner

This border is by Christine Bateman and can be found on Ravelry here. I love this one because it is intricate and full of texture.



Windows Border

This border is by Tamara Kelly and can be found on Ravelry here. I love this one because it is simple and textured at the same time.



Stay well & be awesome, my friends! 😎

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page