top of page

Happy Granny Square Day!

Updated: Aug 16





My project!

Every year on August 15th, the crochet community celebrates the Granny Square with a full day of new granny square patterns. This year, which is my first year to add to the collection of granny square patterns, I decide to do a twist on the classic: the puff granny square.


This square consists of the general granny pattern with clusters of 3, a chain 1 in-between, & chain 2 corners. However, the twist is rather simple. Within each cluster I have removed 1 double crochet (US terms) & replaced it with a puff. Easy! Now, let's go over the necessary info that you will need to make this awesome creation.


The Info


Size: Mine came out to 7 inches square. However, depending on your tension and the yarn/hook used, it can be anywhere from 6 inches square to 7 inches square, as you will see in my tester thanks section.


Blocking: No blocking necessary.


Materials

Yarn: Red Heart with Love; 100% Acrylic, 4-Medium, 7 oz, 370 yds;

(Feel free to use any similar yarn, but be aware: sizing & yardage may differ)

  • Skeins needed (approximate):

    • Main color: 1

Hook Size: I used a 5mm hook, but you may use whatever gives you the appropriate gauge.

Scissors

Needle


Tester Thanks!



Yarn: Big Twist Value in Baby Pink

Hook: 5.5mm

Finished Size: 7 in x 7 in


Yarn: I Love This Yarn in Crushed Raspberry

Hook: 5.5mm

Finished Size: 7.25 in x 7.25 in


Yarn: Caron One Pound in Aqua

Hook: 5.0mm

Finished Size: 6.5 in x 6.5 in


Yarn: Yarn Laine Flecks in Deep Pink/Coral

Hook: 5.0mm

Finished Size: 6 in x 6 in


And that's that!

I'm super excited to bring this pattern to you! You can download the Puff Granny Square pattern by clicking on the file link below. 😉 I'd love to see what you're making! Feel free to comment yours below or share in my crochet group on Facebook: Lana Tibi's Awesome Crochet Club, here.


Be well & stay awesome! 😎




2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page